RETURNING TO BEING GOOD RELATIVES: ADDRESSING LATERAL OPPRESSION AND VIOLENCE

Date: Wednesday, October 21st, 2015

Time: 8:00am-9:30am (HT), 10:00am – 11:30am (AKT), 11:00am – 12:30pm (PT), 12:00pm – 1:30pm (MT), 1:00pm – 2:30pm (CT), 2:00pm – 3:30pm (ET)

Description: Native peoples had a historical reliance on a system of kinship and helping one another to survive and thrive through the ages; being a good relative was central to sustaining a strong family, extended family and kinship network.  Due to the traumatic effects of becoming disengaged from cultural lifeways that nurtured and strengthened the kinship system, lateral oppression and violence now exists in all sectors of the community, whether it be in the family, school, workplace or general community.  The impact of lateral oppression and violence has far reaching effects and can lead to fear, depression, isolation and health problems; with the most critical impact on the children.  What is it and what can we do about it, what are some strategies and resources to aid in transforming a pattern of hurtful behavior to returning to a culture of being good relatives to one another? These questions and related issues will be discussed in this webinar.

To register, please click here!

Learning Objectives:

As a result of this webinar, participants will:

  • Increase their working knowledge of lateral oppression and violence.
  • Expand their understanding of the impact of lateral oppression and violence on Native people.
  • Develop skills and approaches to address lateral oppression and violence

Presenter:
Cecilia Fire Thunder
President, Oglala Lakota Nation Education Coalition
Instructor, Oglala Lakota College

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s