Building Trauma Informed Tribal Child Welfare Systems Webinar

Please join us for a free webinar titled “Building Trauma Informed Tribal Child Welfare Systems: New Shifts in Policy and Practice”, which is brought to you by Defending Childhood in partnership with the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention and Futures Without Violence.

Date: Tuesday, August 9th, 2016

Time: 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm Eastern Standard Time / 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Central Standard Time / 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm Mountain Standard Time / 11:00 am – 12:30 pm Pacific Standard Time / 10:00 am – 11:30 am Alaska Standard Time / 9:00 am – 10:30 amHawaii Standard Time

** Please note that the listed times reflect the same time in different time zones. The webinar will be held only once. 

Please click here or on the link below to register now! 

Registration Link:

http://futureswithoutviolence.adobeconnect.com/buildingtraumainformedtribalchildwelfaresystems/event/registration.html  

Webinar Description: 

This webinar will provide information about key changes to the Indian Child Welfare Act and their connection to the need for trauma informed and trauma responsive services to American Indian children and their families. Additionally presenters will explore the impact of the multiple forms of trauma experienced by children and families and will present ideas and strategies for shifting practices within child welfare systems to be more trauma informed.

After this training, participants will be better able to:

  • Recognize the multiple forms of trauma experienced by American Indian children and their families and the impact Child Welfare systems.
  • Understand key changes to the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) as a result of the new ICWA Regulations and how they connect with the 2015 Bureau of Indian Affairs ICWA Guidelines.
  • Understand the connection between the ICWA and the need for trauma-informed services to American Indian children and families.

Presenters:

  • Marilyn J. Bruguier Zimmerman, MSW, Tribal Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
  • Terri Yellowhammer, Attorney Indian Child Welfare Law Center and ICWA Consultant, MN Board on Guardians Ad Litem
  • Gaynell RealBird, National Family Advocate & Prevention Coordinator for the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Office of Indian Services, Division of Human Services

Facilitated by:

Jennifer Rose, Consultant, Futures Without Violence

Questions? Contact Mie Fukuda at mfukuda@futureswithoutviolence.org 

This project was supported by Grant No. 2011-MU-MU-K011 awarded by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Points of view in this document are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official positions or policies of the U.S. Department of Justice.

 

Building Trauma Informed Tribal Child Welfare Systems: New Shifts in Policy and Practice

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s